Club History

Gaelic games were first introduced to Rasharkin in 1909. Both hurling and football were played. It was not until 1943 that the present St. Mary's Club was formed.
Formed on the 17th March 1943 by John Dougan, Terry Mc Shane Tony Mc Lernon, Stephen Mc Auley and Fr. Agnew.

First committee elected:

  • President: Fr. Blaney
  • Chairman: Pat Hendrie
  • Vice Chairman: John Mc Taggart
  • Secretary: Jim Agnew
  • Treasurer: Austin Adams
St.Mary’s GAC have continuously served the parish of Rasharkin in North and South West Antrim until the present day.
We are an active Gaelic Athletic Club with a total membership of over 500 members and cater for all age groups from U6 to Senior Gaelic Football U8 to Intermediate in Hurling and U6 to Junior in Camogie.
Initially St. Mary's concentrated on hurling with football soon being introduced, and it was in football we had the greater success.
Our first county title came at Minor Football level in 1948 and this team formed the nucleus of the 1958 Junior Football Championship winners. This team went on to become a major footballing force in the 1960's contesting four Senior Championship Finals and two semi-finals in a six year stretch each year being beaten by St.John’s club Belfast
Rasharkin collected an Intermediate Football title in 1978 beating St.Pauls in the final.
O'Cahan Cup Winners 1982
Junior Hurling Championship 1991 beating McDermotts in the final at Casement.
Reserve Football Championship title 1997.
Junior Football Championship 2003.
From 1993 to 2003, the Club have won, 1-U-21, 2-Minor, 2-U16 Football Championships and several Juvenile League titles from U12 to U18.
After competing in four consecutive County Junior Hurling finals the club finally achieved their goal in 2009 bridging an eighteen year gap and landing the Junior Hurling Crown. That team went on to progress to the provincial decider where they were beaten by Naomh Colm Cille an amalgamation side from Co. Tyrone.
Intermediate Football Champions 2010 and Division two league winners. This team when on to represent Antrim in Ulster where they beat Derry Champions Castledawson in the quarter final, they were beaten in the provincial semi final by eventual All Ireland Champions Lisnaskea Emmetts.

In 2010 steps were made to include Rasharkin Camogie Club forming the new St.Mary’s GAA Rasharkin.  

The existence and success of our association is down to the hard work and dedication of volunteers, St.Mary’s similar to most other clubs are indebted to men and women who give their time and commitment. This was recognised in 2009 at the Irish News Club and Volunteer awards. Our former Chairman, Anthony McMullan, received an award for Club Volunteer and the club received a special recognition award for their 125 celebrations.
Within our club we have Danny McLernon a former Club Chairman who has been elected to represent Antrim at Ulster at County Convention 2010. Michael Hasson represents Rasharkin with distinction at Ulster level and is the current Ulster Treasurer.
O'Cahan Cup Winners 2011 beating Cargin in the Final at Portglenone
Excellent playing facilities one mile outside the village in the town land of Dreen

St Mary's GAC Park Official Opening 31st July 1983
Jamesie Mc Lernon Memorial Park Official Opening 20th August 2000
Team Status:  Dual Club:-  Football (Senior) Hurling (Intermediate) and Camogie (Junior)
Team Colours:  Saffron and Blue

Juveniles:  U6, U8, U10, U12, U14, U16 & U18 (Football, Hurling and Camogie)