• You Are Here:
  • Home
  • News
  • Aontroim Scor na nOg - 2010

Latest News

Aontroim Scor na nOg - 2010
13th November 2010

Aontroim Scor na nOg took place on Saturday 13th November in St.Joseph's Hall Dunloy. The Cultural efforts being made by Naomh Mhuire Ros Earcain were beginning to flourish as entry in three categories would prove. We had participants in Ceol Uirlise (Instrumental Music), Nuachleas (Novelty Act) and Trath na gCeisteanna (Question time)

The parish hall in Dunloy was full of supporters from all over the county. There were South West representatives from St.Mary's Rasharkin, Cuchullians Dunloy, St.Mary's Aghagallon, Kickhams Creggan and St.Comgalls Antrim, North Antrim representatives from Shamrocks Loughgiel and Carey Faughs with St.Galls and Ardoyne Kickhams making the furthest journey representing South Antrim.

Congratulations go to Niamh, Eoghan and Fearghal Kennedy who won Nuachleas (Novelty Act) with a superb performance. They had to beat some tuff competition from St.Galls, Ardoyne Kickhams and particularly St.Mary's Aghagallon to win. They will now be representing Antrim in the Ulster semi final in Abbey Grammar School Newry Co. Down Saturday 11th December 7.00pm

Well done to Patrick Mooney, Alisha O'Kane, Una McCloskey, Alanna Duggan and Liam Davy who represented St.Mary's Rasharkin in Ceol Uirlise (Instrumental Music) they had hard luck but played very well. With nine different clubs participating this was hotly contested with a very experienced St.Galls group clinching the silverware.

Peter Hasson, Eimear McAllister and Sinead Hardy also did the club proud and deserve credit for taking part in Trath na gCeisteanna (Question Time). This was a closely fought battle of wits between seven different clubs, with our brain boxes finishing fourth amassing a very respectable 50 points. Conleth McGranaghan, Declan McCann and Conal McLarnon from Kickhams Creggan won this category with 62 points followed by Cuchullians Dunloy on 60 points and in third with 58 points St.Mary's Aghagallon.

All the competitors deserve recognition for there efforts and all can feel proud of their performances. Cultural Officer Anthony McMullan is to be thanked for their contribution in the organising and promoting of our acts along with John Mooney, Bernie Kelly and Michael Hardy. We are beginning to make a habit of representing Rasharkin and Antrim in Ulster! We wish our competitors good luck. Lets try to get out and give them our support.

The official results were as follows:

Rince Foirne (Ceili Dancing): Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon
Amhranaiocht Aonair (Solo Singing): Ciara Mooney (Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon)
Ceol Uirlise (Instrumental Music): Naomh Gall Belfast
Aithrisroreacht / Scealaoicht (Recitation / Storytelling): Dermott Kelly (Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon)
Bailead Ghrupa (Ballad Group Singing): Kickhams Creggan
Nuachleas (Novelty Act): Naomh Mhuire Rasharkin
Trath na gCeisteanna (Question Time): Conleth McGranaghan, Declan McCann and Conal McLarnon (Kickhams Creggan)