• You Are Here:
  • Home
  • News
  • St. Mary's GAC Rasharkin AGM - 2010

Latest News

St. Mary's GAC Rasharkin AGM - 2010
7th November 2010

The Club held its Annual General Meeting on Sunday 7th November 2010 to reflect on the year past and set the agenda out for the coming season. Everyone agreed that we had a successful year on and off the playing fields, our Senior Footballers landing the double Division two League and Intermediate Championship and now competing at Ulster level is a great achievement. Our underage hurling structures got a lot of praise with Minors winning all before them and U16 teams virtually unbeaten all season, both sides collecting numerous All County, South West and North Antrim titles.

Activities off the field were also complemented, the success of the events that have been organised by the club such as Reeling Round Rasharkin, Mixed Fortunes, Juvenile Presentation night, Night at the races, GAA Quiz and La Na Chlub Day to name a few and of course we are all waiting in anticipation for the up and coming event, Rasharkin's version of Stars in their Eyes.

The cultural side of the club is gaining a lot of momentum with the introduction of Irish Dancing, Ceili Dancing and Irish language classes. These initiatives are bearing fruit, and will be demonstrated this weekend in Dunloy at the County Scor na nOg. The club has entered three categories, instrumental music, novelty act and question time, we wish all our competitors Good Luck.

The most substantial development was the motion to integrate Rasharkin Camogie Club with St Mary's GAC. The club now cater for the playing of Gaelic Football, Hurling and Camogie along with the promotion of the various Irish culture activities.

Brian O'Neill was returned as club chairman along with Vice Chairman Thomas Donaghy. Club Treasurer John McAuley starts his forty-third year in charge of finances was also reinstated, John is assisted by Dominic O'Neill. Brian Cowan steps up to the top table, he was elected as Club secretary who takes over from Michael Hardy; Brian vacates the assistant secretary post which will be taken by new comer Cormac Hasson.

The other officers are as follows assistant PRO Ciaran Hasson, Club Registrar Charlie Cowan, Male Youth Officer Brendan Hegarty, Female Youth Officer Pauline Quigg, Grounds Development Chairman Michael Hardy, Coaching Development Officer Liam Hardy, South West Delegates Karol Doherty and Seamus Hasson, North Antrim Delegates Ciaran and Charlie Hasson, Cultural Officer Anthony McMullan and ASAP Officer Michael C Hasson.

The remaining committee members will take up positions in Finance, Events, Public Relations, Grounds Development, Grounds Committee, and Discipline they include Adrian Kelly, Breige Mullaghan, Cathal Cowan, Damian McGaughey, Daniel Hasson, Danny McLarnon, Eamon McGarrell, Frank Hasson, Johnnie McErlaine, Josie Hardy, Mark Hasson, Melisa Hardy, Michael J Hasson, Noel McGuckin, Paddy McLarnon, Pat Hasson, Patrick Kennedy, Sean O'Kane, Sean O'Kane (Glebe), Terry Hasson, Thomas Doherty, and Tony O'Kane.

The Club wish to thank all the out going members for their work and wish the elected committee good luck in all their posts this incoming season.